Matt’s (almost) Famous Coconut Cream Pie

So, I’m kind of a, bit of a cook, mainly a baker. What? I like it! Its fun and mostly everything in baked goods requires sugar and butter. Which are the foundations to all human existence.

Now, I don’t mean to brag or nothin’ (well actually I do but I’m trying to be nice) but I fix a killer coconut cream pie. It has to be one of the bests. No joke. I’ve tried many other coconut cream pies and none compare to mine. Its the best. Sorry Marie. (Not.)

So here is the recipe:

  • 3 cups Half and Half
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup flaked coconut – toasted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (9inch) pie shell, baked
  • 1 container of whipped cream

To get things rollin’, pour the half and half into a medium saucepan.

Now crack and beat up the eggs! Beat ’em up!

Next, you’ll want to get all ya sugahs and ya flours, put them in a bowl and mix ’em together! (Dont forget the salt!)

Mum gave me an interesting and helpful tip. Instead of pouring all the dry stuff into the big pot and then trying to beat the tar out of it to get it all mixed up, she suggested that you take a bit of the cream out of the pot and put it in with the bowl and beat the tar out of that! Then all your beating is done in a confined little space and comes out silky smooth. Genius!

Then ya pour it into the big pot and mix it all together.

Now turn on the stove to medium heat and stir constantly! If you don’t stir it constantly, itll all stick to the bottom and burn! I consider that bad juju for pies. Bad. Juju.

Now would be a good time to put the pie crust in the oven, that is if you are using a store-bought, still frozen, pie crust. If you actually took the time to make one from scratch, well that’s a lot scratching my friend. I’m lazy and used a store-bought one.

Now you’ll want to add the vanilla and toasted coconut. Half a cup to 3/4 of a cup will do, (for the coconut) depending on your taste.

Begin the pouring process!

Tah-dah! Done! Depending on how much you pie you like, you can fill it up half way or almost to the top!

There’s always left over pudding. Yum!

And there ya have it folks, my (almost) famous coconut cream pie! I swear, you wont be disappointed! Its rich, sweet, creamy, and extra super tasty! For best results, leave it in the fridge over night.

I hope, I know you’ll enjoy it!

Matt :D

Go here if what I just showed you makes no sense —-> Recipe courtesy of allrecipes.com

7 Comments

Filed under Food

7 responses to “Matt’s (almost) Famous Coconut Cream Pie

  1. This looks. so. good.

    I was going to make pumpkin bread today, but we had no eggs. (Which is odd since there’s usually three or four dozens of eggs in the fridge.) This just made me soo jealous.

    What lens did you use for the final pie picture? The 50mm?

  2. I LOVE coconut cream pie!! Bring me some to Santa Barbara!!! :D

  3. Hello can I copy some of the information here in this post if I provide a backlink to your site? Richard :-)

  4. I have been searching for content like this for my little research project I’m putting my thoughts into. Thank you alot :-)

Leave a Reply

