The Story of a Confused and Tired Blogger

As you may have noticed, I haven’t blogged for over a week now. I haven’t felt like it and dare I say it, I’m kind of bored of blogging. Since I started this blog, I haven’t stopped blogging. I wanted a break. I realized that even while I was in Colorado, I was till obsessing with my blog. I needed to make a post. I needed to edit photos for my blog. I always checked my site stats. The list could go on and on. It than hit me that I was on vacation and spending a majority of that time on the computer. I was in the middle of a post (a post that I had spent two days trying to write) and just stopped. I put down the computer and just went outside to enjoy some God’s handy-work.

At that point in time, I emptied my mind of my blog. I needed too. I had been obsessed with my blog the entire trip (and the past year and half). I would get upset if the campground we were staying at didn’t have wi-fi. How was I going to blog?! But once I put the computer down, I felt some-what relieved.

The past few weeks, I have had a lot of trouble writing. Every time I sat down to blog, all these great thoughts I had in my mind, vanished. I was left there, typing whatever disorganized crap came to mind. It felt like there was no rhyme or reason to my writing. Which left me feeling rather confused. Even as I write this post, I’m not here. I don’t really know what to say. Im just trying to get the thoughts out of my head! (As I type, I keep telling myself to FINISH THIS POST! I have two or three drafts that I have started, but never finished because I don’t know how too.)

So, I really don’t know what I’m going to do. I’ve got a bunch of photos I want to show yall, but I also want to tell a story with them. I have some ideas but I don’t know if they will work or not.

A few of those ideas are these. I feel as if these “changes” will help improve my photography and my writing.

I might switch my blog URL from “journeysofaphotographer” to “matthigby” or “matthigbyphotography” or something of the sort. I realize that photography is “my thing”. It’s something I genuinely enjoy doing. I feel as though “journeysofaphotographer” was more a blog thing. So I probably switch my URL (or whatever it’s called) to Matt Higby Photography or something (I already have the URL things registered!).

Another change will probably be less blogging! A big mistake I made when I blogged everyday was I never proofread my posts. I just typed them and published them. Well that is not a very wise thing to do. As I have learned. I always seem to leave out important words, or misspell words, or what-not. So I’ve decided that I’m not going to blog every day! Instead, I am going to blog once or twice a week. And instead of just typing mindlessly, I am going to compose a post, take a break, proofread it, and then publish. I figured if I pace myself, I will end up with ~hopefully~ better posts.

I”ll probably make some other changes as well. But they will be more for promoting myself as a photographer and such.

Anyway, I don’t know when I will get around to finishing up those other blog posts. I may never finish them.

Matty :D

(Fact: I wrote this post two days ago. I took a break, and now I’m here proofreading it and publishing it. I feel as if this post is better than what I started with.)

2 Comments

Filed under pictures

2 responses to “The Story of a Confused and Tired Blogger

Leave a Reply

