2,996 Remembered

Last Friday my friend Austin and I (Ausin Miller Photography) met up at Tempe Camera to drool over camera lenses and get a roll of film developed. I finally finished up a roll of black and white film that I used in the Contax IIIa my aunt got me for graduation. I thought the film would take only a few hours to develop but turns out it wont be ready till Tuesday or Wednesday. Oh well. So he and I ended up walking down Mill Ave.
We decided to wander through Tempe Beach Park (there is no beach…just concrete) and happened upon this 9/11 Memorial.



It was a really moving memorial. Each flag had a name and brief description of someone who died when the Twin Towers collapsed.

I guess I can tell you my 9/11 memory. Since that seems to be the thing to do today.

So I would have been around eight when the planes crashed into the World Trade Center. I remember waking up and getting ready for school. I was still in real school at the time. We were about to go when my mom said to turn on the TV, some terrorists had hijacked some planes and we were being attacked. We turned on the TV and watched the planes crashed into the WTC. Being eight I didn’t really know what to think. It was scary and really weird. After the towers collapsed we still had to get to school. Once we got there we were told to go to the chapel for a moment of silence and prayer.

The next thing I remember was the time after the attacks. I remember that America was once again united. Instead of people thinking of themselves, they reached out and help others around them. They didn’t put themselves first. It was something I had never seen before. It made me think of what it must have been like in the 40’s and 50’s. Of course, once everyone had “moved on” it was back to them being number one. I wish it were still like that.

Well that’s my 9/11 memory. But one good thing did come from this horrible, tragic event. One of my best friends, Justin was born on this tragic day. :) Happy Birthday 17th lil’ buddy! Even though you’re not so little anymore. Which is stupid. ;)

So for all those who lost a loved one(s) or a friend(s) in the attack, you are in my prayers tonight. :)

Now Playing – The Yacht Club

Matty :D

2 Comments

Filed under pictures

2 responses to “2,996 Remembered

  1. Charlotte Lehman

    Great memorial photos. They really capture the strong emotions such a scene invokes. Excellent work.

    • Thank you very much. It was very moving memorial. I have never seen so many flags. A fitting way for all those who perished.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Matty :D

Leave a Reply

